Read Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1 by Shashi Deshpande Free Online

Ebook Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1 by Shashi Deshpande read! Book Title: Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1
Edition: Penguin India
Date of issue: January 28th 2003
ISBN: 0143029525
ISBN 13: 9780143029526
The author of the book: Shashi Deshpande
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 342 KB

Read full description of the books Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1:

This is a collection of short stories written by Deshpande before she began her award-winning novels. At first I was disappointed, as a few of the stories failed to stir me, although for fans of literature, it was evident that she had been sharpening her pen in these. However, about one-third of the way through, the stories really began to bite. Deshpande is a master of heart-wrenching emotion, and all her known themes of gender, expectation, family life in India, as well as a variety of interesting settings (first, second and third person perspectives, narratives of queens and cleaning women, small girls and old women) do not fail to stir the heart and educate the mind.

Read Ebooks by Shashi Deshpande

Read information about the author

Ebook Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1 read Online! Novelist and short story writer, Shashi Deshpande began her career with short stories and has by now authored nine short story collections, twelve novels and four books for children. Three of her novels have received awards, including the Sahitya Akademi award for `That Long Silence'. Some of her other novels are `The Dark Holds No Terrors', `A Matter of Time', `Small Remedies', `Moving On', `In The Country of Deceit' and `Ships that Pass'. Her latest novel is `Shadow Play'.Many of her short stories and novels have been translated into a number of Indian as well as European languages. She has translated two plays by her father, Adya Rangacharya, (Shriranga), as well as his memoirs, from Kannada into English, and a novel by Gauri Deshpande from Marathi into English.
Apart from fiction, she has written a number of articles on various subjects - literature, language, Indian writing in English, feminism and women's writing - which have now been put together in a collection `Writing from the Margin.' She has been invited to participate in various literary conferences and festivals, as well as to lecture in Universities, both in India and abroad.

She was awarded the Padma Shri in 2008.

List of books by Shashi Deshpande

Dark Holds No Terrors (1982)
That Long Silence (1989)
A Matter of Time
Moving On
Small Remedies
Shadow Play (2013)
The Narayanpur Incident
If I Die Today
In the Country of Deceit
The Binding Vine
Ships That Pass (2012)
The Intrusion And Other Stories
3 Novels : A Summer Adventure, The Hidden Treasure, The Only Witness
Come Up & Be Dead
Collected Stories (Volume - 1)
Collected Stories (Volume - 2)
Writing from the Margin: And Other Essays

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1

Read EBOOK Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1 by Shashi Deshpande Online free

Download PDF: shashi-deshpande-collected-stories-volume-1.pdf Shashi Deshpande: Collected Stories, Volume 1 PDF